Another dev blogger? ...Yes!

One of the first things I noticed when entering into the tech world on social media was blogs! Blogs are everywhere and at any level of experience. I myself am not a professional writer. In fact, that's what made me reluctant to begin. I was always hesitant to share something as serious as a blog. What if my information is wrong? What if I sound like the imposter that I am? What if I mispell something? I've worked hard to cultivate a positive social media presence. A hard-working and enthusiastic learner, eager to join the ranks of my fellow devs. That is until I realized it's okay. It's okay to make mistakes, have days where I feel I'm at the bottom of the well surrounded by async, promises, and linked lists. That's exactly why I should!

A blog can really be anything you want it to be. I mean if there is a subreddit that checks if today is Friday the 13th, I can make a blog. I can make mistakes, share my woes, and have those great moments when something finally clicks into place. Mistakes and failures are something developers at all skill levels are all too familiar with. It's almost a badge of honor to get to say you spent 4 hours deep in StackOverflow only to finally realize you had a missing semi-colon.

What will I blog about next?

I'd like to share my journey of creating my app called Parrot. The idea was sparked by watching my son use Siri to navigate around the web and chat with his friends. You see, he has a speech delay which is why this really caught my attention. He was slowly pronouncing his words and repeating them when Siri didn't understand. It's a nasty cycle because when you can't enunciate your words it's difficult to sound them out to spell. I was honestly astounded. He not only was being encouraged to correctly pronounce words but also seeing how they are correctly spelled. That's when Parrot began. It's still under development but I'd like to share with you my journey. All the mistakes, triumphs, and failures that happen to a new developer building their first big web application.